Arsenal took an early lead amid controversy in the 2017 FA Cup final on Saturday, as Alexis Sanchez scored in the fifth minute to put the Gunners up 1–0 on their London rivals (and Premier League champions) Chelsea.
Sanchez’s goal was immediately called off, with the referee’s assistant signaling for offside on Aaron Ramsey and Chelsea players calling for a handball on Sanchez as he won the ball at the beginning of the play.
However, after conferring with his assistant, referee Anthony Taylor elected to allow the goal to give Arsenal a surprising early lead in the cup final.
Handball? Offside? Doesn’t matter, it’s 1-0 Arsenal!